Mid-Life Crisis Anyone?

I’m only 38.  But I think I might be there… somewhere’s around mid-life, and in an identity crisis, AGAIN.

I don’t want a convertible.  Or a boob job, or an ass lift.  I don’t want a 20 year old pool boy.  Maybe, I would.  If he was from Brazil.  But not really.

Lately I just want to drive around with my music loud and pretend I’m not a mom, or a wife, or an office manager.  I want to be someone completely different.  What if I had picked a different path?

What would she be like?

Hmmmm…..she would live in a condo, in downtown……Seattle? No… Portland?  I don’t know.

She would drive a VW TDI Golf, Red. There would not be broken crayons on the floor, and the seats would not have spots of unknown sticky stuff.

She would work in a fun, swanky clothing store and dress really nice.

She would not own a pair of cotton briefs. Not. One.  All her undies would be cute.. and her bras.  Cute.  Not basic white bought in 3-pack from Costco.

Laundry would not overwhelm her.

She would eat out a lot, and not at fast food places.

She would like to cook.

Men would want her, but they are merely a hobby for her.

Bleh.  I’m done.  Honestly, I don’t know that I would even like “her.”  She is probably lonely wishing she had a husband and kids to crack her up.  She would not have developed the sense of humor that I have….had to have.

I will still need to go for a drive by myself now and then.  With my music loud and my mind in la la land (eyes on the road).  I need to.  I always come back home.

Crisis averted?

6 thoughts on “Mid-Life Crisis Anyone?

  1. I hear ya! There is nothing like driving around with your music loud! Only thing I love about running errands during the day. And I can listen to whatever I want…don’t have to censor because of little ears.

  2. You are not alone!

    Having said that, I’m willing to bet the Single, Care-Free us isn’t as happy as we are. When it comes right down to it.

    But the responsibilities? Oh how they wear me down!

  3. They say the grass is greener on the other side for a reason. We can always dream, ponder, wonder what would be, could be…but I would bet some big money you would return to where you are and realize it’s not so bad after all. That you actually like, heck love much of what you currently have. You need a big ass break. In the meantime, a great outlet for you would be theater…you would be a great actress…maybe in your next life….or once you get beyond where you are at. XOXO

Leave a Reply

