Mama needs her medi’zin’

Typical day folks.. typical.  Get my family all prepared for their day… and head off to work.  Do my general supportin’ the staff bit.. play mom to a couple sick kids at school.. you know “my job.”  Left at my usual time.. to pick up my kids and and the neighbor’s kids at school to head home.  That’s when I went down hill.

The children in my van were obnoxious.  ‘Sept my son.  I was dialin’ out his requests on my ipod.. he and I  are pretty tight with our love for music.  Little U2, some Coldplay, and then an old favorite from the 80’s, Nik Kershaw.. Wouldn’t it be Good.  My boy loves this song. Me too.. that’s why it’s on my ipod fool.

So the other three start goofin to the song.. dancing weird in their seats and screwing up their faces.  Totally disrespectin the tunes.  River and I were insulted.  The “others” don’t know good music.  Needless to say it put me in a crabby mood when I got home.

For no apparent reason it got worse.  The noise.  The sight of them.  Their NEEDS for cryin out LOUD!  My neighbor (dear friend that I love) picked up her offspring and I was left to deal with just my own.  Kids are kids.. but gosh I was an open wound and they were the salt tonight.  Fortunately, they have a little church get together across the street every Thursday and they were out of my hair for a while.

But my husband saw this is an opportunity for “love.”  I looked at him and said, “You have got to be kidding me!  I am so crabby right now I could kill something!” I swear to the Almighty he could not read body language if it was in 46 pt Arial Bold Font..know what I’m sayin?

“Baby.. maybe you need some wine….”  Me, “yeah… prolly.  Bring it.”  he does.. with a shot of scotch.

Mama is happy in no time.  SWEEEEET.  I can’t believe how well that chilled me out.  Why don’t I do this every night?!  Not the shot mind you, but the wine.  Tonight was a cab-merlot. Tomorrow I’ll try a Zin, my mede’zin.’ Get it?

wino

3 thoughts on “Mama needs her medi’zin’

  1. Girl….
    “Kids are kids.. but gosh I was an open wound and they were the salt tonight. ”

    Hahahahahaaa!!

    and then,
    “I swear to the Almighty he could not read body language if it was in 46 pt Arial Bold Font..know what I’m sayin?”

    You. Kill. Me.

Leave a Reply

