Gravity 534, Lisa ZERO!

Today I pretty much fell outside a post office in downtown Suquamish at…oh… 9:00 in the morning. The little voice in my head tried to warn me against it……she always knows what’s coming. The pavement usually.

Picture this: Me… ready to head out the door to work… Dressed, lunches made for kids, everyone kissed.. last thing to do is slip on my shoes. Outfit calls for: black flip flops.

Voice says: No! the flip flops are too new… you will fall for sure, they are not broken in yet. Not the flip flops!

Me: Hey.. I don’t think I feel like wearing my flip flops. They are still kind of stiff. I might FALL.

So… I then look at the time, panic, and stick my NAKED feet into my CLOGS.

Voice says: Are you friggin nuts woman!?!?! Clogs with no socks!? STUPID! YOU’LL BE SLIDING ALL OVER THE PLACE YOU STUPID FOOL!

Me: Shut the F*%# up voice! I’m gonna be late!

Out to door I go, and in no time at all my feet are sweating, naked in my Dansko clogs. Now folks, these are the Dansko Marcelle clog in black, a mary jane morphed with clog. Very cute with funky socks, and incredibly comfortable when I am able to be ‘upright.’ Aren’t they cute:

I stop at the little post office in the little spot of Suquamish I drive through on the way to worky. I get out of my car, look directly at the long cement parking barrier in the space next to me. I look right at it, as if with caution.

Voice says: Make sure you step that sweaty footed clog OVER the parking barrier dufus!

and…one…….step……toward it……andIamimmediatelysuckeddowntothecurb.

I’m 38 now.. so I stay on the ground for a few seconds to make sure nothing is broken. Broken bones matter more than broken pride these days. No one comes to my aid. No one saw? Perhaps.

Voice says: You are infact, yes…. a total idiot. Good luck the rest of the day in THOSE shoes missy!

My left side took the punch again. Just like the night of the Golden Acorn Awards. I predict that when I’m really old, if I can still wear clogs, I will prolly break that hip first. Why do I fall on that side? Must be that one gimpy short leg.

I head across the street, carefully, to meet my husband because the whole reason I am even here is to pick him up after he takes our van to the shop. I say… “I pretty much just fell in front of the post office Mark.”

Laughter.

He drops me off at work, and as I am rubbing my elbow, I tell my co-worker Terry… “yeah, I fell at the post office.”

More Laughter.

I guess laughter is what I bring to the world. That, and my body with blunt force.

2 thoughts on “Gravity 534, Lisa ZERO!

  1. Uh. Mah. Gah.

    My apologies…

    My only sadness is that I wasn’t there to see it. I’d have bent over you – to laugh. I’d have stretched out my arm – to POINT AND LAUGH. I’d have been rendered helpless for all my LAUGHING. Heck, I might have fallen over too – IN LAUGHTER!

    *rolling on floor… hugging gut… laughing*

    I am so in love with you. Plutonic of course…

  2. Okay, this was worth waiting for. I can just picture it. Maybe some locals strolling past the P.O. toward JC’s Market for their after-breakfast Bud Light, maybe a few guys from the po-dunk fire department out for a smoke break, or maybe some of those auto-repair guys from across the street all craning their necks to see what that strange NOISE was on the pavement in front of the P.O. (splat…and then laughter).

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

