Dogblog

I really friggin do.  LOVE HER.  Leica just turned 12 this weekend.  We gave her presents and I baked her an angelfood cake of which she had a small serving and we all pretty much ate the rest. Pretty much. Shared some with the neighbors. She got an obnoxious squeaky ball and a new frisbee that will float in the water.

But my dog.  I love her.  She is the best dog in the whole wide world.  She is cute, has a pink nose and perky ears.  Mark and I got her as a puppy when we were just merely engaged twentysomethings.  She knows these words: beach, leash, scooby snack, walk, ball, toy, sing, speak, frisbee, and deer.  And some others.  She knows STOP.  Stop barking, stop digging, stop whining, stop backing your ass into my black pants you shedding yellow dog.

But I love her.  And she is 12.  I get a lump in my throat.  That is eightyfrigginfour in dog years.  No one believes me when I tell them how old she is.  Well, they do, but they are like, “REALLY?!?!!?”  Why? Cuz she looks and acts like she is four.  I. Know.  What a dog.

Here’s some cute pictures of her:

This is Leica on the river… just downstream from where I was fishing.  One of her “happy places.”

Here is her other “happy place,” the beach in Indianola.  She also loves the Oregon Coast, but I could not pick  a picture of her there.. .just to many!  I refuse to go there with out her.

Isnt’ she just beautiful?

This next set I call the “I love my dog” set:

Notice how the kids change and the dog doesn’t? That is Ruby as a baby on the blanket! She’s a freak of nature I must say!

These next photos are all about her loving tolerance of my children, and sometimes the grownups.  She took 3rd place in our local pet parade this year as Tinker bell.  She’ll let us put ANYTHING on her.  She even lets, (and loves) to have us bury her in the sand.  Can you believe it?

Now for the famous Leica.  This is a picture Mark took long before kids arrived in our lives, and he, being the talented photographer that he is submitted it to Getty Images and the photo has sold several times!  She’s been in advertisements, greeting cards, and magazines all over the world.  That’s my girl!

Well, that’s it.  I clearly love my dog.  You should to. Some of you do.

4 thoughts on “Dogblog

  1. That is one very sweet dog. I know what you mean about the age thing as well. People hear the Beast is almost 5 and start saying things like, “Oh the average Dane only lives 7 years.” Why would you tell me that, you black-hearted loser?

Leave a Reply

